Author Topic: Any tips for helping myself to stop panicking while playing?  (Read 5681 times)

Agery

• More of a CAVE fan
    • Takane#3254
Hello. I've been playing Touhou games since 2008 (slowed down and lost interest in the official games themselves around 2013 or so but have been getting back into the pre-UFO ones as of late) and I have this problem where if I get to the end of a run or a part I've never cleared before (Imperishable Night's Extra Mode is the most recent one I've been struggling with as of late) I start to panic and make mistakes very quickly in a short period of time, which causes me to get frustrated and make *more* mistakes. It's one of the reasons I had to stop playing PCB in 2012 since I choked on Yukari's final spell card and lost at the literal last second and makes me think I'm both doing something wrong and getting worse at these games. I don't think I've gotten a 1cc in a shmup past Mountain of Faith or so and I want to improve, but constantly making these mistakes in gameplay or perceiving a death/mistake as "Wait, how did that hit me?!" is getting me down. I've seen a couple of replay videos showing tips or "Hey, do this to make this attack pattern more bearable" but in the heat of the moment I tend to forget the tips on more difficult stages.

Any general tips or ideas? Much appreciated. (I apologize if I sound rambling, I'm not good at writing things like this down).
I prefer the fan games to actual Touhou games save for the fighting games.

Re: Any tips for helping myself to stop panicking while playing?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2022, 06:37:03 AM »